Samsung Phone Users Can Now Sync Photos and Video to Google


One cloud in, one cloud out. Samsung phone users can now sync photos and videos in their Gallery app to Google, as native Microsoft OneDrive integration ends Sept. 30. The update will roll out over the coming days, and availability may vary depending on account type, device model or region.

Tech insider Ice Universe viewed the new feature and posted images on X, noting that you may now see a new “Sync photos and videos” option in Gallery Settings.

As detailed on this Google page, you must have a compatible Samsung device running Android 13 or newer and a personal Google account. To find out which Android version you have, go to Settings > About phone > Software information, then look for the Android version. If you need to create a Google account, the details are here.

After syncing Gallery to Google Photos, users can view and share multimedia from their Samsung devices, the Google Photos app and photos.google.com. But there are limitations. Google Workspace accounts can’t use it, and synced items can’t be viewed in Google features such as memories and highlights, live albums or search unless you back up photos and videos via Google Photos.

Also, Google Accounts supervised by parents are ineligible to use the feature.

Google says that you can back up photos, videos, albums, device folders such as downloads or screenshots, and metadata such as timestamps, location, and favorites status.

Representatives for Samsung and Google did not immediately respond to requests for further comment.

How to sync to Google Photos

Syncing Samsung Gallery to Google Photos is optional, but storing photos and videos only in the Gallery will quickly eat up phone storage space. Open the Samsung Gallery app on your phone, then tap the three-line hamburger menu at the bottom right. Select Settings, then Sync Photos and videos. Choose a Google account from the instructions and grant permission to sync media.

Deleting items from either Samsung Gallery or Google Photos will remove them from both apps and from your cloud storage. Editing photos in either app will also show up everywhere.

Users can also turn off syncing at any time, and previously backed up items remain safely stored in their Google Account.



Source link

  • Related Posts

    US government website used Chinese model the FBI called “malicious”

    Many business owners who increasingly rely on open source models have urged the Trump administration not to restrict access to Chinese models. And China, which has dismissed accusations of frontier…

    Continue reading
    Flock Offers Employees Buyouts as Customers Flee

    Flock Safety announced a voluntary employee separation program on Friday, offering a “generous” severance package to those who want to leave amid growing backlash against the surveillance technology company, according…

    Continue reading

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You Missed

    Steve Hartman reflects on parenting journey as his son leaves for college

    Steve Hartman reflects on parenting journey as his son leaves for college

    US government website used Chinese model the FBI called “malicious”

    US government website used Chinese model the FBI called “malicious”

    Emergent Ventures India, 19th cohort

    Emergent Ventures India, 19th cohort

    Kelsey Mitchell breaks A’ja Wilson’s WNBA single-season points record in Fever win

    Kelsey Mitchell breaks A’ja Wilson’s WNBA single-season points record in Fever win

    Vancouver police horse droppings create ‘blatant disregard for public safety’

    Vancouver police horse droppings create ‘blatant disregard for public safety’

    31 Years Later, the Final ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ Comic Strip is Still a Perfect Sendoff

    31 Years Later, the Final ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ Comic Strip is Still a Perfect Sendoff